Patient Testimonials

Ascent Physical Therapy
5 Star Rating based on 25 reviews
16126 SE Happy Valley Town Center Dr #200 Happy Valley, OR 97086
503.427.0118

Sports: Groin Pull

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 25, 2017

I pulled my groin playing football and could not walk or run without a sharp pain. After 3 appointments, I can play with no pain. My experience was very good. I felt very comfortable and it was very helpful. Yes, I’d recommend it to anyone seeking physical therapy.

by

Surgical: Ankle

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 20, 2017

When I first came to see Patrick Webinger at Ascent, I’d just spent the last few months in a hospital bed in my dining room. A fall from my yurt art studio in the woods left my ankle so severely broken, my foot was completely severed from my leg. EMTs, an ambulance, the ER, a surgery, screws and metal plates, and five days in the hospital followed. Then I was sent home. My ankle was non-weight bearing, and so incredibly painful on the knee scooter that I barely moved for many many weeks.

I’d had a lackluster experience with physical therapy in Seattle more than a decade earlier. The one-on-one interaction with the PT was limited to just a few minutes. The process was standardized and not personalized to my needs. I often left those Seattle sessions feeling worse than when I’d arrived. I wasn’t going to seek out a PT this time around, but a friend kept urging me to do so. I am so glad she did.

With Patrick, it was different. We had an hour. He sat and listened, both to the physical complaints, and, surprisingly, to the emotional ones, too — brought on by helplessness and pain. He had vast knowledge of injuries, and was adept at researching different aspects of physical recovery. He was an encyclopedia of knowledge. And he was a great listener. Sometimes, being able to talk was as important as the actual physical exercises. I felt heard and seen.

I was given printouts describing each exercise to take home, and info about an online portal that I could access from my home computer. Photos, videos and instructions on the exercises were uploaded to this private portal. I was so impressed with this portal, that I started researching using something similar in my own business.

It did not take long for me to get out of the boot, to start walking and then hiking again. During those weeks confined to bed, all I could think about was going dancing. I just wanted to dance. And that too, over time, became possible. Today, I’ve been able to go even further, and have begun working out. I believe my attitude has improved, as well — not just from the time of the injury, but from prior to the ankle break. This is the mark of true “healing”.

I cannot thank Patrick and Ascent enough. The personalized one-on-one attention, the adaptable approach, and the knowledge base of the PTs combine to create a truly unique and deeply healing experience. I will be referring everyone I know to Patrick and Ascent now and in the future. Thank you guys for everything!

by

Recreation: Sciatica

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 15, 2017

I was experiencing symptoms of sciatica with pain down my leg. The pain lasted all day and interrupted my sleep and prevented me from playing tennis. The exercises that I learned at Ascent helped to reduce my symptoms dramatically and are easy to continue at home or in the gym. I noticed an incredible improvement in a relatively short period of time and am now back to playing tennis. My experience was outstanding and I would recommend Ascent Physical Therapy to all my friends and family as well as to my Doctor for other patient’s care.

by

MVA: Neck and Back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 12, 2017

I injured my neck and back in an auto accident. I was unable to sit for long periods of time, sleep through the night, and participate in my daily activities due to the pain. Thanks to Pat, I am able to return to a normal, pain free life. My experience was great. Pat was very good at finding out what my symptoms were and was able to provide me with all the exercises I needed to get back on track. I really appreciate his expertise. I was definitely recommend Ascent to my friends and family, as well as my doctor for other people’s care.

by

Sports: Shoulder

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 10, 2017

I had a sports injury from doing Boot Camp. As I continued doing the camp, the injury and pain would get worse. Eventually, I had to take cortisone shots just to continue my daily living, such as dressing, sleeping, bathing, etc. My insurance company sent me to my primary care physician’s physical therapist for five sessions. Absolutely nothing changed. After an MRI, I chose to try Ascent Physical Therapy. I can’t even put into words how great I feel. The pain is gone! My range of motion is right where I need it to be. I am very happy. I am just a little bit short on strength, but I can fix that by working out with my weights. Great job Ascent and thank you!

by

Surgical: Low Back w/ Leg Weakness

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 7, 2017

I had back surgery in May of 2013 that did not go well. I was unable to do the things I normally do–just to walk was a chore. My everyday life is now much easier! I’m now able to do most normal things. I’m very pleased with the care I received at Ascent. I would recommend Ascent to anyone.

by

Worker’s Comp: Low Back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 5, 2017

After suffering a back injury at work, I wasn’t sure what to do. I was referred to Ascent Physical Therapy and I’m so grateful for that. I’ve never had physical therapy before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I came in for my first appointment. Derek was so kind and instantly made me feel comfortable. The time he spent making sure I was back to feeling normal again is something I greatly appreciate. When I first started treatment, I was unable to do a lot of my normal daily activities. Now I’m back to my normal routine without pain. I would recommend Ascent Physical Therapy to all my friends and family!

by

Surgical: Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 3, 2017

I have been playing volleyball for 45 years but was having knee pain from severe arthritis. I had a total knee replacement to fix the arthritis. Now I’m planning on playing volleyball again on March 8th in Canby! Ascent Physical Therapy has been a fantastic place for me. I would recommend Ascent to my family and everyone I know. I will also recommend my Doctor to tell more people about Ascent Physical Therapy. Thanks!

by

MVA: Neck, Back, Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 1, 2017

I was seen due to a car accident which involved a semi-truck rear ending me. My biggest limitation was not being able to sit through class due to back pain. The back pain also limited my sleep. Also, I was unable to work out and play soccer since my knee would also be bothering me. After being treated, I can say I am able to participate in these activities again. I had a great experience at Ascent Physical Therapy. The staff was very helpful and understanding. I was afraid and nervous as this was my first time getting therapy, however, Patrick was great and helped me through the whole process. I would definitely recommend these services to my friends and family. I would even recommend it to my doctor so it can be offered to other people.

by

Recreation: Back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 25, 2017

I had back issues for 3+ years, especially on my left side. It was so bad, I could hardly get in and out of my car without miserable pain. Shopping, walking, working in my garden, and cleaning my home was so painful, I literally just laid on my sofa with a hot pad.

Now I can do just about anything without thinking about it. Keeping up with my exercises is a must now and of great importance. I feel like I have a life again and can tackle the hard things that come up in my life. I never lose a moment to share my experience with friends and whoever asks me about my change. I so appreciate Pat and his staff here at Ascent and can say it’s been an encouraging and positive experience. Thank you from the heart!

by

Work/Surgical: Ankle

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 21, 2017

I sprained my ankle years ago and after years of walking on it for work and sports, the pain got so bad that I could hardly walk. I couldn’t play sports of any kind. Now I can walk a lot better and each day it seems to be getting better and better. I had a great experience learning how to improve my situation. I have already, and will in the future, recommend to Ascent Physical Therapy to people I meet, friends, and family!

by

Surgical: Neck

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 17, 2017

I had a disc replaced between #5 and #6 in the neck. The initial symptoms appeared in May, but surgery did not happen until mid-September. The surgery released the pinched nerve but both arms were very weak so I was unable to play golf or bowl, my two major hobbies. I am now able bowl again… not sure about golf as it is way too cold outside right now. I feel so much better than when I started. The best part is, I have lessons that I have learned that can help me continue to increase my stamina. I am very grateful for the hard work and caring that Derek showed me each and every visit.

by

MVA: Neck

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 15, 2017

I was in a car accident several months ago. After the accident, I was unable to turn my neck or head without pain. After therapy and coaching from the staff, I am able to return to my regular activities. I have always been very active and I was worried that I would be limited for a long time. Thanks to Ascent, I am back and running. Snowboarding season is here and I can now enjoy myself.

by

Surgical: Low Back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 13, 2017

I came to Ascent Physical Therapy after an extensive back surgery. I was unable to do many of my normal activities. Every time I came in, Patrick listened to my concerns and we progressed from there. Patrick was my cheerleader. He would ask me if I had been able to do certain activities a month ago when I was discouraged about how slowly I was (or thought I was) recovering. I would certainly recommend this clinic. Being listened to and treated with respect is a huge plus for Ascent Physical Therapy!

by

Recreation: Low Back

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 11, 2017

I had back pain that made riding the bus to work painful and I was concerned that I was not going to be able to compete in my track and field events. After just a few visits my back was feeling better and I was able to not only compete but won two medals at my meet, qualifying for the state Special Olympics. Riding the bus to work no longer hurts my back and I am more comfortable at work.  I would recommend Ascent Physical therapy to a friend if they had back pain.

by

MVA: Neck & Shoulder

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 8, 2017

I want to express my thankfulness to Derek for the services he provided for the recovery toward the mobility and pain-free experience of my shoulder and neck after a rear-ending car accident at the beginning of this year. I went through several clinics and therapy specialists, but I believe I achieved maximum benefits at Ascent Physical Therapy. I appreciated Derek’s easy going attitude and the natural sense of “feeling” the pain that I was experiencing. His casual conversation about family matters and everyday life subjects made me feel like I was being treated by a family member. Thank you, Derek, for your dedication and expertise in your therapy treatment for my specific situation. It really made a big difference in my recovery outcome.

by

Worker’s Comp: Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 3, 2017

I fell from an extension ladder while at work and dislocated my knee cap. The worst part of my injury was the inability to walk, work, or be active in any way. I had a great time in physical therapy with Patrick. He pushed me to succeed. I would recommend Ascent Physical Therapy to anyone!

by

Surgical: Collarbone Fracture

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 1, 2017

I received physical therapy after surgery from a broken clavicle. When I first came here, I had practically no movement in my shoulder and was in constant pain. I made sure to stick to my home routine designed by Derek and came into the office periodically for treatments. There were times that I felt like my shoulder would never feel normal again. But, after sticking with the physical therapy regimen, I’m happy to say I am fully recovered, have 100% mobility, and feel back to normal!

by

Recreation: Knee Sprain

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 24, 2017

One day I was playing basketball, the sport I love, when I hurt my knee really bad. It limited me from doing the things I love, like playing with my kids, riding my bike, playing other sports, working, etc. Before I went to my first appointment, I was so nervous that I didn’t sleep well the night before. But, by the time I left the appointment, I felt like I was going to be 100% better in no time. In less than a month, I was able to start doing all the things that I loved again without pain. I will definitely tell everyone I know who gets injured to come to Ascent Physical Therapy because they treat you like family.

by

Sports: Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 23, 2017

I was having extreme pain in my left knee area. I began having to stop or cancel many racquetball games. My Dr. recommended therapy and I followed his suggestion. Not being able to play was allowing my depression to dominate my daily moods, and leaving me feeling depressed. Ascent Physical Therapy was recommended by my medical staff, and it has been very successful in my recovery.

I was able to relate my symptoms to Derek, and he was listening to me and was asking questions along the way. Within a few days of therapy, my knee felt incredible. I was back to playing racquetball at a high level again.

I have already recommended Ascent to others and I am very pleased with the results of my physical therapy. From 1 to 10, I rate them a 12!

by

Surgical: Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 19, 2017

After 20 plus years of knee pain due to osteoarthritis, I decided to go ahead and have total knee replacement surgery. When I did my research I learned the key to making a full recovery was to comply with all doctor instructions. However, the most important key was to get to physical therapy sooner than later.

Again, I began researching physical therapists in the Happy Valley area. After reading about several local therapists I came to the conclusion that Ascent Physical therapy was my first choice. I called my orthopedics’ office and without even requesting Ascent Physical Therapy to be my choice for therapy…they suggested that I go see Dr. Derek Lawr at Ascent. Within hours of my call to my doctor, Amanda at Ascent called and scheduled my appointment.

Now the hard part was about to begin. I was in pain and quite swollen but determined to get this knee back to normal. Being somewhat nervous about starting this arduous task, my mind was put to ease as soon as I met Derek. He was very friendly and explained every step we would take together. His knowledge of rehabbing a total knee replacement was a huge relief to me. Derek explained his treatment plan for me and off we went. We met twice a week and he put me through several exercises some easy and some not so easy. The key is to challenge yourself for the best possible outcome. Upon my first appointment Derek did an assessment of everyday activities and my score was 30% and after three months my new assessment was at 94%.

Thanks to Derek I can do almost everything I want to but I still have some work to do. It will take me another three months or so to feel like myself but it was well worth it. I truly believe that physical therapy is the key to having a great outcome and I highly recommend Ascent Physical Therapy and Dr. Derek Lawr.

PS…I still have the other knee to do and I am happy to know I can go back to Ascent to rehab and get back to normal. Thanks Derek…see you soon.

by

Sports: Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 16, 2017

I play tennis 3 to 4 times a week. My injury occurred while playing tennis. I had to stop playing on the day of the injury and used a cane for the rest of that day. The injury made me feel like my playing days might be over. After a doctor and more x-rays, I was referred to Ascent. The care and concern from all the staff was excellent. Within a few visits I was back on the courts. The most important thing I took away from this experience was the instructions on what to do in the future so I can maintain and manage my physical condition. I will strongly recommend Ascent to anyone who needs physical rehab.

by

Recreation: Hand Fracture

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 13, 2017


I had an injury on my right hand on July 14th, 2016 (boxer’s fracture). My hand was in a splint for about 2 months. I had very little mobility before I came to Ascent, but with the help of this great team, it’s been a few months and I have full mobility of my hand. Although the cold still affects it sometimes, I’m very happy with the results I got out of Ascent Physical Therapy. Derek is very helpful and understanding. He pushes you just enough to get the job done but not too much to overwork you like I’ve had with other physical therapies. I would highly recommend Ascent to anyone who needs therapy. It’s like coming to hang out with friends while you better yourself.

by

MVA: Neck & Spine

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 10, 2017

We were involved in an auto accident. In my case, my injury was mostly emotional. The shock and later dismay took a full six months to recover from. I still have minor moments of panic flashes. For the majority of the time, I feel good and believe ‘this too shall pass’. The tool chest of exercises that my therapist gave me will provide me with a continuing personal regimen of exercises. Many thank you’s to my therapist, Patrick.

by

MVA: Neck & Knee

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 5, 2017

I was seen at Ascent Physical Therapy because of injuries sustained in an auto accident. I was a passenger in a car that was t-boned in an intersection. Because the car spun after impact and finally came to a stop, I sustained injuries that surprised me. My chest became a cage of pain, my neck hurt, I had bruises on my right knee and hip. Some of the pain subsided with time and a heating pad, but most of my progress was helped along with physical therapy. The exercises were always appropriate and well thought-out. The big breakthrough was the use of the CAT tool for my neck pain. I am a keyboard musician, and playing was literally a pain in the neck. After a couple weeks of treatment, I was pretty much back to my old self. I had a flare up with my knee, but worked through it with insightful exercises with great success. By following through with the program at home, I have had a good recovery after six months. I would highly recommend Ascent Physical Therapy.

by